Who were the winners in past Grand Prix milestones?

The sensational 1000th Grand Prix will be celebrated at this weekend’s SHARK Grand Prix de France, but where did the other big milestone GPs take place between 1949 to 2023 – and who won at them? Hans Georg Anscheidt, now a MotoGP™ Legend, won the inaugural 50cc race, while Japan’s first GP winner, Kunimitsu Takahashi, won the 125cc race. Jim Redman, another MotoGP™ Legend, was the victor in the 250cc class. Rodney Gould and Angel Nieto won the 250cc and 125cc races, with Nieto’s win acting as his first in the class. 500 GPs came and went in Barcelona with Noboru Ueda picking up the win in the 125cc class. Tom Lüthi and Jorge Lorenzo were the Moto2™ and MotoGP™ winners, with the latter going on to win his second premier class title. All three would go on to win the titles in their respective classes.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account