Vandoorne Seals Formula E Title

SEOUL, South Korea – Stoffel Vandoorne steered to silverware with a second-place finish in the Hana Bank Seoul E-Prix to seal the 2021/22 ABB FIA Formula E Drivers’ World Championship and secure the Teams’ World Championship for Mercedes-EQ. On a momentous day for Formula E that saw Edoardo Mortara win the 100th E-Prix race in the world’s first electric motorsport World Championship, Vandoorne’s Season 8 title also marks the end of the Gen2 era in Formula E – the second iteration of electric race car in the series – with the Gen3 race car debuting next season. “It was really about the consistency in the end, they all have more wins than me, but I have the most podiums I think. Only Mitch Evans had any chance of catching Vandoorne going into the race. Nobody won more than Evans’ four races this season, but it was Vandoorne’s consistency – just one non-score and the record eight podiums – that sealed the deal.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account