The Stars Have Won At North Wilkesboro

When Enoch Staley, John Masden and Charlie Combs watched a bulldozer operator carve North Wilkesboro Speedway from North Carolina farmland in 1946, there wasn’t anything scientific about the race track’s design. NASCAR’s Strictly Stock Series – now known as the NASCAR Cup Series – concluded its inaugural eight-race season at North Wilkesboro on Oct. 16, 1949. Thirty-eight drivers won 93 NASCAR Cup Series races during a period of 47 years. We went there and raced and won, then another and then another and so on. His 10 victories at North Wilkesboro include five consecutively between October 1981 and October 1983. “We raced there twice a year and everyone expected one of Junior’s cars to win and so did Junior. He taught me not only how to win races, but he also taught me how to win championships.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account