Sprint Race Report – Perez wins Sprint Race

Sergio Pérez in the Red Bull-Honda won Saturday’s Sprint Race at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix today over pole man Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari, 4.463 seconds behind. Earlier on Saturday the Sprint Race grid was decided in a shorter Sprint Shootout session, and Leclerc starts on pole with Perez alongside on the front row, Verstappen and Russell on row 2, Sainz and Hamilton on row 3, Albon and Alonso on row 4 and Stroll and Norris rounding out the top 10. Leclerc leads Perez, Russell, Verstappen, Sainz, Hamilton, Alonso, Albon, Norris and Stroll in tenth, Piastri, Hulkenberg, Magnussen, Bottas, Zhou, Gasly, Devries, and Ocon in 18th. The safety car pulls off and the race resumes at the start of lap 6 with Leclerc taking the lead over Perez, Verstappen passes Russell for third. At lap 10 Perez leads Leclerc by 0.8s, followed by Verstappen (2.0s), Russell (4.4s), Sainz (6.1s), Alonso (7.1s), Hamilton (7.9s), Albon (10.7s), Stroll (11.3s), and Piastri (12.5s) in tenth.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account