Sorensen, Hughes Lead USMTS Hopefuls Into Dairyland Showdown

FOUNTAIN CITY, Wis. — The Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt racers have their sights on next weekend’s long-awaited 2nd Annual Dairyland Showdown presented by Dynamic Concrete Resurfacing May 5-7, at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway.The Summit USMTS Modifieds will pay $3,000 to win Thursday, $5,000 to win Friday and $10,000 to win Saturday as they share the spotlight with the World of Outlaws Late Model Series in what promises to be another standing-room-only event at Bob Timm’s picturesque palace of speed.With four races in the books, four different winners have emerged in the early stages of the 2022 campaign, including points leader Dustin Sorensen who captured the opening night of the 12th Annual Texas Spring Nationals nearly two months ago at the Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas, with a late-race pass of Jason Hughes.Looking to snap a winless streak dating back to Sept. 3, 2017, Hughes led 33 straight laps before Sorensen tracked him down and raced by for the win with four laps remaining. On June 8, 2007, Todd Scharkey won the first USMTS race at the track with Kelly Shryock, Waits and Al Hejna winning the other three on the tri-oval.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account