Six of the ten FIA World Rallycross Championship races for 2020 have been held so far in Sweden, Finland and Latvia. Kristoffersson won semi-final one and the final in wet conditions driving Kristoffersson Motorsport’s Volkswagen Polo. Kristoffersson again took TQ in round two, also at Holjes, and won semi-final one. Ekstrom was beaten to the win in semi-final two by his KYB Team JC team mate, Sweden’s Robin Larsson and started on row two of the final. Sweden’s Kevin Hansen was classified P2 when Kristoffersson was given a track marker penalty. Sweden’s Timmy Hansen was P3, Gronholm was P4, Scheider P5 and Kevin Hansen P6. Kristoffersson was P1 in two qualifiers to take the TQ, and won semi-final one, but he was beaten to the lead of the final by semi-final two winner Gronholm, was had been quickest in Q2. Kristoffersson was forced wide and Ekstrom finished in P2 and Gronholm’s GRX Taneco team mate, Russia’s Timur Timerzyanov was P3. Kristoffersson, Timmy Hansen and Bakkerud were P4, P5 and P6. Kristoffersson, Ekstrom and Gronholm all set a quickest times in qualifying, and Kristoffersson and Ekstrom took the semi-final wins. Kristoffersson had saved better tyres than his rivals for the final, and in the last race of Saturday, took the win. Ekstrom was quickest in Q1 and Q2 in World RX round six and took the TQ. He won semi-final one and with a tyre and race strategy to equal Kristoffersson’s, he took the lead of the final at the start and scored his second win of 2020. Kristoffersson was P2 in the final, and Larsson took P3 to make it a first ever double podium for the KYB Team JC team. Timmy Hansen, Gronholm and Kevin Hansen were P4, P5 and P6.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account