Scott Dixon’s Bitter Disappointment

INDIANAPOLIS — Scott Dixon continues to chase Mario Andretti for second on the all-time list of Indy car winners. They each won the Indianapolis 500 only once, despite dominating the race’s record book. Andretti is fourth all time in laps led in the Indianapolis 500 with 556, while Dixon is the all-time lap leader in the Indy 500 with 665 laps led. He led 73 laps in both the 2009 and 2011 races, only to finish sixth and fifth. In fact, in all three of Dixon’s second-place finishes, the race ended under caution. But on the final pit stop of the race on lap 175, Dixon entered pit lane too fast. It’s the hardest race to win and the easiest race to win.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account