Russel handed three-place grid penalty for impeding Kvyat | 2019 Austrian Grand Prix

The stewards have given George Russell a three-place grid penalty for the Austrian Grand Prix after the stewards ruled he “unnecessarily impeded” Daniil Kvyat.
Kvyat had to abandon his final flying lap in Q1 after catching Russell at turn nine.
After speaking to both drivers the stewards ruled George Russell “unnecessarily impeded car 26 [Kvyat] after the apex of turn nine.”
Russell had not been informed of Kvyat’s approach early enough, the stewards determined.
“Car 63 [Russell] was not given the requisite warning by the team in a timely fashion about car 26 approaching on a fast lap,” they noted.

Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
  Subscribe  
Notify of

Please Sign-in / Sign-up to see more content, unlock more features, and take part in MotorMouth discussions!

Sign-in/Sign-up

Forgot your details?

Create Account