Race Notes – Verstappen takes Championship

After a Safety Car period ended with one lap left, Max Verstappen in the Red Bull-Honda passed Lewis Hamilton in the Mercedes GP to win the Abu Dhabi GP by 2.256 seconds and take the Drivers’ World Championship. At the end of lap 5 Hamilton leads Verstappen by 1.8 seconds, following is Perez (4.2s), Sainz (10.0s), Norris (12.1s), Leclerc (13.5s), Tsunoda (14.9s), Bottas (15.8s), Ocon (18.1s) and Ricciardo (19.5s) in tenth. On lap 10 Hamilton sets fast lap at 1m28.216, and again the next lap at 1m28.134s – Hamilton leads by 4.7 seconds. The next lap Hamilton responds and pits for hard tyres and rejoins second. The next lap Hamilton gets by and Perez immediately lets Verstappen by and the pits for hard tyres. At lap 22 Hamilton leads Verstappen by 2.2 seconds, followed by Tsunoda (17.3s), Bottas (18.0s), Perez (27.5s), Alonso (30.2s), Gasly (31.5s), Sainz, Norris and Leclerc. On lap 30 Hamilton sets fast lap at 1m27.484s, and leads by 4.2 seconds. On lap 34 Hamilton sets fast lap at 1m27.201s and leads Verstappen by 5.7 seconds. At the end of 37 the race resumes with Hamilton leading Verstappen by 17 seconds. On lap 39 Verstappen sets fast lap at 1m26.103s and trails by 1m26.103s.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Please Sign-in / Sign-up to see more content, unlock more features, and take part in MotorMouth discussions!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account