Race Notes – Ricciardo wins Italian GP in McLaren 1-2

Daniel Ricciardo won the Italian Grand Prix at Monza in his McLaren-Mercedes, ahead of his team mate Lando Norris in second, 1.747 seconds behind, and Valtteri Bottas in the Mercedes GP in third, 4.921 seconds behind the winner. Ricciardo leads Verstappen, Norris, Hamilton, Leclerc, Sainz, Perez, Stroll, Alonso and Ocon in tenth – Bottas in 14th. At lap 20 Ricciardo leads Verstappen by 0.7 seconds, followed by Norris (5.4s), Hamilton (6.5s), Leclerc (10.1s), Perez (13.2s), Sainz (20.9s), Stroll (26.8s), Bottas (27.6s) and Alonso (30.9s) in tenth. Ricciardo leads Leclerc, Norris, Perez, Sainz, Bottas, Stroll, Alonso, Russell and Latifi in tenth. On lap 31 the race resumes with Ricciardo leads, Norris passes Leclerc for second. At lap 40 Ricciardo leads Norris by 1.1 seconds, followed by Perez (2.1s), Bottas (3.1s), Leclerc (4.2s), Sainz (5.1s), Stroll (8.1s), Alonso (9.6s), Russell (11.1s) and Ocon (12.4s) in tenth place. At lap 50 Ricciardo leads Norris by 1.4 seconds, followed by Perez (3.1s), with a 5-second penalty, Bottas (4.6s), Leclerc (6.2s), Sainz (9.1s), Stroll (13.9s), Alonso (16.3s), Russell (18.2s) and Ocon (19.4s) in tenth place.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Please Sign-in / Sign-up to see more content, unlock more features, and take part in MotorMouth discussions!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account