Only three riders have won from Misano pole since 2007

Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) made it back-to-back pole positions at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, but can the Gran Premio TISSOT dell’Emilia Romagna e della Riviera di Rimini polesitter covert it into victory? Viñales has qualified on pole position for the third time this season along with the Austria and San Marino GPs, which is the same tally as the whole 2019 season. This is Viñales’ first back-to-back pole positions since Valencia 2018 and Qatar 2019. Since 2007, only three riders have won the MotoGP™ race after qualifying on pole position in Misano: Casey Stoner (2007), Valentino Rossi (2009) and Dani Pedrosa (2010). This is his best qualifying result since he was also second this year in Austria, which is his only other front row start so far this season. This is his second-best qualifying result so far this season after Brno, when he was eighth. This is his worst qualifying result at Misano in MotoGP™ since he was 14th in 2008.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account