No. 2 of 2022: Power, Dixon Write New Chapters of History

Dixon tied Mario Andretti’s mark of 52 race wins July 17 by capturing the Honda Indy Toronto in the No. Dixon’s victories extended his series record of consecutive seasons with at least one race win to 18. Power’s victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix presented by Lear on June 5 gave him 16 straight seasons with at least one race win, and that ranks second on the sport’s list. Power has been the best qualifier of this generation, and he entered the season with 63 poles. But with only one pole in 2021 and only two in a 26-race stretch over three seasons, it appeared he might not be able to catch Andretti. “(I) put a lot of focus on this race for that race.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account