Newgarden, Penske Feel Like Million Bucks Entering Barber

The NTT INDYCAR SERIES begins its May bonanza with this weekend’s Honda Grand Prix of Alabama presented by AmFirst, a 90-lap race held Sunday at 1 p.m. (ET) on the 17-turn, 2.3-mile permanent road course at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama. This track has been much to Team Penske’s liking, with six wins in 11 races, including five by current drivers Josef Newgarden (three wins) and Will Power (two). Six drivers in this field have been victorious at Barber, led by Helio Castroneves, who won the inaugural race in 2010. Six drivers are former pole winners at Barber, with Power, Pagenaud, Newgarden and Sato also winning the race in the same year. In 2019, Simon Pagenaud did so in the July 14 street race in Toronto. 3 Sonsio Team Penske Chevrolet) is the only other driver to win a race this season. Power (2011), Simon Pagenaud (2016) and Newgarden (2018) are among the five drivers who have won races from the pole at Barber.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account