NASCAR In 2012 — The 75 Years Edition

As a result, we will bring you Part 65 of a 75-part series on the history NASCAR. Brad Keselowski became the 29th different NASCAR Cup Series champion in 2012, winning the title in only his third full-time season at the age of 28. The first driver from Michigan to win the title, Keselowski also earned the first Cup Series championship for Team Penske in the operations 23rd full season competing in the series. Keselowski grabbed the point lead for the first time after winning the playoff opener at Chicagoland Speedway in September and led the rest of the way, defeating Clint Bowyer by 39 points after the season finale at Homestead Miami Speedway. Keselowski joined Bobby Labonte as the only drivers to win an Xfinity Series title and a Cup Series crown. Keselowski and Paul Wolfe are the only driver-crew chief combination to win championships in both the Xfinity and Cup series. Ironically, Dodge withdrew from the series at the end of the season. Keselowski won five races and collected 13 top-five finishes and 23 top-10 results en route to winning the championship.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account