NASCAR In 1981 — The 75 Years Edition

Editor’s Note: NASCAR is celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2023. Waltrip and the Junior Johnson race team rallied to clinch the Winston Cup championship. Allison, who won the season opener at Riverside and the season finale on the twisting road course, moved ahead in the standings after the fifth race of the season. Waltrip also ended the 31-race season as the top money winner with a record $539,050. Richard Petty, Neil Bonnett and Benny Parsons won three events each. Harry Gant, who didn’t win a race but finished second seven times during the season, was third in the standings. Richard Petty used pit strategy to win his seventh Daytona 500, holding off Bobby Allison who had dominated the race. Dale Earnhardt, who was the defending series champion, failed to win a race.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account