NASCAR In 1978 — The 75 Years Edition

Editor’s Note: NASCAR is celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2023. Everybody wants to win very, very badly,” said Benny Parsons after his $11,225 victory at Richmond (Va.) Raceway. In 1978, the six race winners from 1977 — Bobby Allison, Neil Bonnett, Parsons, Petty, Waltrip and Yarborough — were paid $3,500 each to appear at each of the 20 superspeedway races and $2,500 for each of the 10 short-track events. “There’s 12 more races left in 1978 and I’ll be driving all of them for DiGard. Yarborough and his Junior Johnson-led team defended their Daytona 500 victory, but finished second to Bobby Allison while battling handling problems with the Oldsmobile. “It can’t hardly hold the race track,” Yarborough said after the race. By the time his rival changed cars, Yarborough had won five races and sat atop the point standings. Yarborough led 28 of the 30 races he started en route to a record third consecutive Winston Cup title.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account