McLaughlin Runs Away at Portland; Five To Race for Title

Scott McLaughlin made winning look easy Sunday in the Grand Prix of Portland. Predicting who will NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship a week from today will be a lot tougher. 3 Freightliner Team Penske Chevrolet to a 1.1792-second victory over teammate and NTT INDYCAR SERIES points leader Will Power in the No. That result ensured New Zealand native McLaughlin will be one of five drivers eligible to win the Astor Challenge Cup at the season-ending Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey on Sunday, Sept. 11 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, joining Power, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden and Marcus Ericsson. Dixon also is 20 points back but is third in the standings due to fewer wins than Newgarden. It’s the 17th consecutive season the NTT INDYCAR SERIES championship will remain up for grabs until the season finale.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Please Sign-in / Sign-up to see more content, unlock more features, and take part in MotorMouth discussions!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account