Indy 500 Prep Shifts into Overdrive This Week at Open Test

The march to the 108th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge begins this week at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with 34 car-and-driver combinations, including eight former “500” winners and 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson, scheduled to participate in an Open Test on Wednesday and Thursday. Castroneves won in 2001, 2002 and 2009 with Team Penske and in 2021 with Meyer Shank Racing, his current team. Defending champion Josef Newgarden of Team Penske heads the list of single-time “500” winners.” His teammate, Will Power, who won the race in 2018, will join him along with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon (2008), Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Arrow McLaren’s Alexander Rossi (2016) and Andretti Global’s Marcus Ericsson (2022). This will be the second time the latest generation of Andretti, Rahal and Fittipaldi drivers have competed together in the “500” as Pietro Fittipaldi was a 2021 participant. Marco Andretti is competing for the 19th time; Graham Rahal has made 16 starts. Sixteen drivers will compete in the “500” for a different team than a year ago. Andretti Global: Marco Andretti, Marcus Ericsson (W), Colton Herta, Kyle Kirkwood.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account