Illinois Hall Of Fame Honors 8 Inductees

ROCKFORD, Ill. — With more than 200 in attendance, the annual Illinois Stock Car Hall of Fame banquet was held Saturday at the Hoffman House Restaurant with eight new inductees being honored. These were among Trickle’s estimated career total of over 1,000 short track victories. Frank Reaber won three late model track championships at Chicagoland’s Santa Fe Speedway. He began his late model driving career at O’Hare in 1964 and was voted the track’s “most popular driver” in 1965. Joe Ross Sr. was a stock car winner on the dirt short tracks of Central and Southern Illinois. Going to the stock car races when he was a kid in the 1950s, Roger Smith was even a driver himself, racing quarter midgets with the Midwest Motor Mites. Watson won over 40 short-track races in 1976, driving for car owner Fred Nielsen.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account