Honda makes history: 800 motorcycle Grand Prix wins

At the 2020 Grand Premio Liqui Moly de Teruel, Honda became the first motorcycle manufacturer to achieve the historic milestone of 800 Grand Prix victories, thanks to a superb Moto3™ win by Leopard Racing’s Jaume Masia. During these six decades of Grand Prix racing Honda riders have won more than 60 Riders World Championships and Honda has taken more than 70 Constructors World Championships. By the end of 1961, Honda’s second Grand Prix season, the company had won the 125cc Riders and Constructors World Championships and the 250cc Riders and Constructors World Championships. Honda won the title five years in a row, from 1976 to 1980. In 1983 Freddie Spencer rode the NS to Honda’s first 500cc World Championship, making Soichiro Honda a happy man. In 1987 Honda returned to the 125cc class for the first time in 21 years.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account