From 1949 to 2023: a short journey through 1000 GPs

If you were to travel from the Isle of Man to Le Mans by motorcycle, you’d clock just over 1000 kilometres from one world-famous motorsport venue to the other. It’s apt then that after the Isle of Man TT hosted the first Motorcycle Grand Prix back in 1949, Le Mans and the French GP will host the 1000th Grand Prix. 1966 was the first year a Japanese manufacturer won a premier class race. From 1975 onwards, Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha began to dominate the premier class. Roberts won the 1978, 1979 and 1980 500cc World Championships with Yamaha, before Spencer and Eddie Lawson shared the titles between 1983 and 1986. The #46 won the 2002 and 2003 titles with Honda, as a famous switch to Yamaha then saw Rossi claim the 2004 and 2005 titles. Oh, and that was Ducati’s first MotoGP™ title triumph – and an Italian manufacturer’s first premier class title win since 1974.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account