Frederik Rasmussen crowned Formula E: Accelerate Champion after dramatic Grand Final victory

Frederik Rasmussen sealed the Formula E: Accelerate Drivers’ Championship at the last, with a dominant clean sweep of pole position, fastest lap and the race win in the Rome Grand Final to pip long-time standings leader Erhan Jajovski to the post. Rasmussen threw down the gauntlet in qualifying with a 1m29.462s – a huge chunk ahead of both Jajovski in second and Siggy third, who were 0.3 and 0.5 seconds back, respectively. If the race finished as it started, Rasmussen and Jajovski would be tied on points, making the two points for fastest lap more valuable than ever. As it stood, that would be enough for the Dane to pip Jajovski to the Drivers’ crown. On Lap 8, Jajovski realised he had to pull something out of the bag with Rasmussen ahead in the standings for the very first time. Duly, Rasmussen crossed the line where he’d started the race – in top spot.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account