Erby Cashes In At Slocum Memorial

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa — Dennis Erb Jr. scored a dominant victory on Saturday night in becoming the latest driver to etch their name in the record books as a winner of the 14th annual Slocum 50 at the 34 Raceway. The night’s first of seven cautions waved on lap two, and by that point it looked like Ryan Gustin would be Erb’s biggest challenger for the win as he quickly scooted by Simpson and into the runner up spot. The next 14 laps would go green, quickly putting Erb deep into lapped traffic. Simpson cut the advantage to under a half second in a matter of laps, but Erb made the necessary on track adjustments and was able to hold off Simpson’s advancements leading up to the closing laps. The night’s final caution would slow the pace with just three laps remaining, giving Simpson one more shot at the race leader. Erb would cruise in the final three laps to score his first career Lucas Oil MLRA victory by a margin of 1.531 seconds over Chad Simpson. “There was a few laps out there I don’t think I was points racing I was going for that win,” stated Simpson.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account