Da Costa crowned ABB FIA Formula E Champion and DS Techeetah seals Teams’ title as Vergne wins Round 9

Antonio Felix da Costa claimed the ABB FIA Formula E Drivers’ Championship and DS Techeetah the Teams’ title in the Berlin E-Prix Round 9, with the Portuguese following team-mate and race winner Jean-Eric Vergne home at Tempelhof. Vergne secured his first victory of the 2019/20 season, with da Costa finishing the race second – the pair having fended off the advances of Nissan e.dams’ Sebastien Buemi, who came home third, to ensure DS Techeetah took the Teams’ Championship. No driver has won the title with two rounds to spare, and this in his first season with DS Techeetah. Vergne now had the race lead from da Costa, Rowland and Buemi with de Vries joining the party. Vergne and da Costa were able to hold station under pressure from Buemi to take a DS Techeetah one-two, deciding the final destination of both the Drivers’ and Teams Championships in the process.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account