Acropolis Rally – a building block of the WRC

EKO Acropolis Rally Greece can’t quite claim the same – but it’s an event which helped form the very foundation of the FIA World Rally Championship in 1973. The Acropolis has been organised since 1951 and elements of the event have changed little in the ensuing 70 years. In our world, it’s better known as one of the most historic and famous start venues in the WRC. Victory in Greece is as hard-earned as on any other round of the series. McRae won five times in seven years, twice with Subaru and a glorious 2001-2003 hat-trick for Ford. One of those Ford wins stands out: Markko Märtin’s 2003 success.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account