A Stacked Rookie Class

One of the great aspects throughout the history of the Indianapolis 500 has been the big-name drivers from all over the world who compete at Indianapolis Motor Speedway as rookies. Grosjean replaced 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay and will be a rookie in this year’s 500. Christian Lundgaard of Denmark is just 20 years old and will be a rookie driver in the Indy 500. Four-time Indy winner Helio Castroneves is the last rookie driver to win the Indianapolis 500 in 2001. Mansell finished third in the 1993 Indianapolis 500 as a rookie and won the CART championship. The winner of the race was rookie Graham Hill, who was the 1962 Formula 1 champion.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account