2024 Preview: Team Penske

The season starts Sunday, March 10 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg presented by RP Funding. The threesome also won five NTT P1 Awards, including Power’s two at Iowa that pushed his career total to a record-extending 70. Newgarden was particularly proficient on the ovals, leading 567 of the 1,210 laps (48.9 percent), including 341 at Iowa. The seven oval races this season are the most for the series since 2011. This season ends with four of the final five races on such tracks, giving Newgarden a strong final push toward his third series title. Only 12 drivers in history have won three or more INDYCAR SERIES championships. Power has 70 career poles; the other full-time drivers this year have a combined 93, and that includes Scott Dixon’s 28 and Newgarden’s 16.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account