2023 Writers’ Roundtable, Vol. 20: Indy Pole Winner?

Today’s question: Who will win the NTT P1 Award as the pole winner for the 107th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge?. I chatted with Rick Mears this week, and he would really like to remain the only driver in history with six career Indy poles, but he, like me, thinks it’s a matter of time before Dixon matches. There is no real gauge to go by, but honestly, I feel like this year’s pole belongs to Colton Herta. At 46, Sato won’t be the oldest pole winner in Indy 500 history; Cliff Bergere still owns that record at age 49 in 1946.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account