2023 Season Preview: Team Penske

2022 in Review: It’s always an unfulfilled season for Team Penske when it doesn’t win the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, the main annual goal of team owner Roger Penske. Power’s season also featured a record-setting 68th career pole, which he won at the season-ending race. New for ’23: Consistency is largely the name of the game at Team Penske, but Newgarden will again have a new race engineer, his third in as many seasons. Beating his teammates must be his first priority, and it won’t be easy as they combined to win nine of the 17 races last season (Newgarden five, McLaughlin three, Power one). Only two drivers in the sport’s history have won 10 races in a season: A.J. Power has driven a Team Penske car in 222 events since the start of the 2009 season, and Verizon has been the primary sponsor for all but five of them.

Follow MotorMouth on social media:
Liked it? Take a second to support Motormouth on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x

Forgot your details?

Create Account